1 5 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N P S T W Y Z
Ne No Nu

Northwest New Mexico

geographic name

Definition of Northwest New Mexico

A region of New Mexico, known as Indian Country, encompassing Cibola County, McKinley County, and San Juan County. Located in this region are the major cities, towns, and villages of Northwest New Mexico are Aztec, Farmington, Gallup, Grants, and Milan; the Pueblos of Acoma Pueblo, Laguna Pueblo, and Zuni Pueblo; as well as the Navajo Nation.

Examples of Northwest New Mexico

Origin of Northwest New Mexico

Located in New Mexico’s High Desert, a unique landscape that the Ancient Pueblo (Hisatsinom / Anasazi) prehistoric culture occupied the current Chaco Culture National Historical Park. Its currently the site of the San Juan River and the Navajo Dam, and the city of Farmington. Other regions of the state are Central New Mexico, Northwest New Mexico, North Central New Mexico, Northeast New Mexico, Southwest New Mexico, and Southeast New Mexico.